August 8, 2018 at 2:51 pm #17545Ray LitvakParticipant
I find myself in unfamiliar territory and need advice. Here’s the situation: Business A is taking over Business B. They are both located in the same city and offer the same service. Both businesses have been in business for 30+ years and have good reputations. As part of the merger, Business B will be forwarding their domain to Business A in short order. They both have well developed and active GMB Listings/Knowledge Panels with over 50 reviews each; Business A has a 4.6 rating and Business B a 4.5 rating. At the moment, Business B (stopped servicing customers as of July 31st) has recently marked their GMB listing as ‘permanently closed’ but has given Business A access/ownership to their GMB listing as part of the merger.
Can these GMB listings be merged? If so, what are the pros and cons and how is it done? Further, Business B has also closed their YELP page and has given Business A access to it. Any information re: possibly merging YELP listings (if advisable) would also be appreciated.
-RayAugust 8, 2018 at 2:55 pm #17546Mike BlumenthalKeymaster
Because the locations are substantially different and the owners were different Google will not move the reviews nor merge the two businesses.
I think the best bet would be to “reopen” Business B, redirect the phone number and put up some Posts about the new business. After 60 or 90 days, close it.August 9, 2018 at 1:16 pm #17552Ray LitvakParticipant
Thanks for the quick reply!
The owners of Company B are still very protective of their legacy and recently marked their GMB page as ‘permanently closed’. They basically closed their doors and left customers in the lurch resulting in frustrated customers leaving negative reviews…opening the page could expose them to further negative reviews which would upset the former owner of Company B.
Company B’s phone number and website have been forwarded to Company A. Is it possible to open the GMB page, insert messaging re: the merger vis-a-vis Posts, Q & A etc. and then mark again as ‘permanently closed’ with the new messaging intact? Assuming that the messaging would even show considering it’s been re-marked as ‘permanently closed.’ Or is it best just to leave it as it is (permanently closed) for the next 30 – 60 days and then shut it down?
-RayAugust 9, 2018 at 1:21 pm #17553Mike BlumenthalKeymaster
If you can’t open it then you can only leave it as is… there is no opening and adding content, that content won’t show.
Listings marked as Permanently close drop off the face of Google Earth slowly… it will gradually become less visible over the next 120-180 days but it will never go away
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.